Musings of a (slightly) older single woman

Vector image of two human figures with hands i...

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday a new friend of mine asked me if I get lonely – not having a life partner.  I do.  She said that that was so sad. She wished a wish for me to find a life partner so that I can be happy.  I told her I am happy. She could not grasp that.  Why is it not possible to feel lonely sometimes but to still be happy?  I think it is.  My happiness does not come from outside sources. I get happiness from the inside.

I don’t have to have all my boxes ticked to be happy.  Is that so wrong?  I think she thinks I am lying…..

Further news – I have dumped Toyboy (in a nice way).  It just didn’t feel right and warning bells were ringing. I always ignore warning bells and then regret it later.  This time I didn’t.

So now is the time to sign up for internet dating….  why am I procrastinating?

Comments on: "Why is it so difficult to grasp?" (4)

  1. I can relate to feeling like something is missing and still being happy. I find it amazing but it’s true and I can understand how someone might find this hard to grasp. On the one hand I’m miserable about being alone. On the other hand I have so many other amazing things going for me and those make me happy.

    For me though, it’s not about the happiness coming from inside so much as it’s about my life being somewhat compartmentalized. The compartments for sure affect each other at least a bit but they are still compartments and you can have some great things and some horrible things going on at the same time.

    Mazel tov on dropping Toyboy. 🙂

    • Yeah – the compartment thing makes sense. I have such wonderful people and family in my life, and I live in a piece of paradise. A partner would just add to that I guess.

      Thanks for popping past and reading my blog.

  2. […] myflipside is considering signing up to a dating site. But she hesitates for different reasons including feeling unsure she’ll find anyone worth checking out and not wanting to spend the money. (As far as I understood.) […]

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh said:

    There have been a lot of times in my life where I ignored the warning bells and ended up going down some very bad roads. I now always go with my inner gut feeling versus what my brain is telling me to do. Good luck with the Internet Dating thing! I look forward to following your blog! Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

